recipes / vegetables

My Minestrone

minestrone

With so many different pre-made options around these days I feel that soup making is quickly becoming a lost art. People often tell me that they don’t have time to cook, or don’t like the time it takes to prepare food so they just grab something like a pouch of soup from the supermarket.

This is such an alien concept to me that I struggle to understand the motivation for not making time to cook. I don’t want to eat soggy, salty vegetables that have been languishing in a vacuum sealed plastic pouch for days, I don’t want to eat preservatives, and I definitely don’t have money to waste on all that pretty packaging. But then again I don’t have children and I don’t subscribe to a life in the modern money hungry rat race – so who am I to judge?

Instead I find a sort of catharsis in methodically chopping up vegetables. I enjoy taking time to perfect the taste, and I love it when people sit down at my table and relish a home-cooked meal.

This minestrone soup is quick, easy and cheap to prepare and if you make enough there will be plenty to re-heat for the next day.

CLICK HERE to see this recipe as part of a meal plan.

Serves: 2

Prep time: 30 mins

Ingredients:

1 zucchini
1/2 carrot
125g sweetcorn
125g peas
1 small onion
1 clove garlic
1 litre vegetable stock
2 heaped tbsp tomato puree
1/2 tsp ground fennel
salt and pepper
olive oil for frying

1/2 cup brown rice pasta (or your choice of pasta)

Method:

In a medium sized saucepan cook the brown rice pasta in boiling salted water for 20 minutes. I always cook rice pastas separately as they release a thick starch that you don’t want in your soup or sauce.

Chop the onion, carrot and zucchini into 1cm chunks and, in a medium saucepan, fry with a little olive oil over a medium heat. Once the vegetables have softened slightly add in the garlic and fennel powder and fry for 1-2 minutes. Next, add in the tomato puree and fry for a further 2 minutes until the vegetables are completely coated.

Season with salt and pepper before adding in the vegetable stock, placing on the lid and simmering over a low heat for 15 minutes. Add in the peas, sweetcorn and cooked pasta at the last minute before serving.

minestronebook

Delicious additions:

Any leftovers meat.

Kale

Serving suggestions:

If the pasta doesn’t do it for you, then by all mean have a slice or two of toast.

Save

Leave a Reply

